Being Honest

Do you ever find yourself needing a break from not just the stressful areas of life, but also from elective hobbies as well?

That is how I have felt the last couple of weeks.  I love writing and blogging, and I truly appreciate anyone who enjoys reading my words.  That is a huge reason I write, for the chance to touch even one person’s life in a positive way. Sometimes though, I realize it is important for me to just take a step back and get my priorities in check.  When my creative juices quit flowing, I know it is time to reevaluate.  I have been writing 5 days a week for the past few months, and I know I have to take it back a notch in order to enjoy my hobby without it feeling like a second job.  I will probably be posting more like 2-3 times a week for a while to see how that goes. Who knows, I may just need a little break to make blogging feel less scheduled.  I want to have fun with my blog and never feel forced to write.

Does anyone else who writes a blog ever feel like this?  What about some other hobbies: Do you ever feel overwhelmed by the pressure of those?  How about blog reading:  Do you ever feel as if you get stressed keeping up with all of the blogs you love?

 

 

This past weekend was a fun one!  We celebrated my husband’s 26th birthday with dinner at BD’s Mongolian Grill.  I have been there before, but not in quite a while and had forgotten how much I really like it.  For those of you who have never been to BD’s, it is basically a make-your-own stir fry place.  You start with an empty bowl and go down a line filled with a variety of raw meat, raw veggies, and sauces.  You load up your bowl with whatever you think looks good and then head on over to the huge cooking zone.  Over high heat, the cooks make the stir fry’s on a giant cooking plate.  I filled my bowl up with chicken and a little sirloin, along with broccoli, onions, edamame, baby corn, and mushrooms.  I then added a raw egg to be cooked along with the rest of my dish, and made up a sauce mixture of soy, teriyaki, fresh minced garlic, and jalapeno.  My dad is a huge fan of buffet-style dining, so I had a feeling he would really enjoy this restaurant, and I was right.  He loaded up two bowls with all of the meat he could find:  sirloin, chicken, shrimp, scallops, etc.  For a man who likes a little veggies with his meal, this place was right up his alley.  BD’s is definitely a restaurant that can appeal to everyone.

After dinner, we headed back to our house for cake and presents.

DSCN1674

 

DSCN1676

I went with a golfing theme this year and got him a couple pair of golfing shorts, a red Nike golf polo, and a navy blue Callaway polo.

The cake I chose was a Chocolate Irish Cream Cake with Buttercream Frosting from Ele Cake Company, my favorite bakery.  It is also where I got my wedding cake from, which was made up of three tiers:  White cake, Red Velvet, and the Chocolate Irish Cream.

DSCN1679

I was excited too that I got to use my cake platter for the very first time, a gift we received for our wedding!

DSCN1680

DSCN1681

I went with an orange and blue theme to celebrate his beloved Denver Broncos.

I also hired some entertainment for the party.

DSCN1708

I know what you are thinking, this looks so dangerous!  I completely agree, but what do you do with a dog who thinks he is a cat, beside laugh and take pictures?

DSCN1721

Tebow is getting so big and when he was little and would walk the couch, it was pretty funny.  Now I am just fearful of what is going to be hurt first:  My precious dog or my new couch and unfortunately (fortunately!!) I am betting on my couch.

 

Questions:

Tell me how you feel about writing a blog/following a blog.  Do you ever need a break?

If you are married, what was your wedding cake flavor?  If you haven’t been married, what is your favorite cake flavor?

Does anyone else’s dog like to walk on their couch?  (No?  Just mine?! 😉 )

Have you ever ate at BD’s?

38 thoughts on “Being Honest

  1. My mom’s dog walks all over the back of the couch, but he’s a tiny dog! Seeing yours do the same is pretty funny. I hope he doesn’t hurt himself, and I think you’re probably right – the couch will suffer before he does!
    I find keeping up with blogs difficult. It takes a lot of time and I like reading and seeing what is going on in everyone’s lives but I read a lot of them. I aim to put up 3 of my own posts per week plus one guest post for Fit Body, Fit Mind. I’m just starting out and trying to get into the habit of blogging and taking pictures, and it’s sort of working. I guess once it becomes more like second nature it won’t take so much thought time as well as writing time!
    I will be here reading your blog regardless of how often you post. I think most people would agree we’d rather read 3 quality posts in a week than any more that aren’t quite as good (not that writing more than 3 means they can’t be good, but you know what I mean). 🙂 A break from something you like doing only makes you want to come back to it more!

    • Thank you Sam, this was such a great comment and I appreciate your support and assurance that you will read no matter how often I post. With work and family time, it is hard to dedicate an hour (that seems about how long it takes me to post) everyday to my blogging. I also don’t like feeling rushed when I write. I want to publish everything with substance and that’s hard to do when you are in a hurry!

  2. I hear ya, lady. When I first started my blog I told myself that I’d be posting every day… But I realized I didn’t want to force myself. My posts arent very well written when they are forced!

    • I am glad I am not alone in this girl! I totally agree with you about forced posts. When I go back and read, I can absolutely tell the one’s when I am feeling rushed, vs. the one’s where I really take my time.

  3. We had wedding cupcakes and a small cake for my husband and I. The cupcake flavors: Carrot Cake, Red Velvet and Vanilla Bean. I am excited to dig into our cake on our year anniversary this year. I am curious to see if it still tastes good after being frozen for all this time 🙂

  4. I hear ya girlie!! I used to try and blog everyday and it made me loathe it haha. I now try to blog 3-4 times a week, but if I have absolutely nothing to write about then I won’t force myself to do it! You have to find what works best for you :D. And that cake seriously looks amazing!

    • I “ditto” my good friend Lindsay. 😉 I started out last summer doing 2 posts a day (I wasn’t working and had time on my hands … but I can’t believe I found that much to write about!). When work started back up, I went down to once a day. Then just Monday-Friday once a day. Then I finally just decided to stick to 3 times a week. That is much much more attainable for me. Like Lindsay said, do what works best for you! 🙂

      • Kristin! Thanks for the feedback girl 🙂 I always love reading your blog and can tell how much thought you put into your posts. I am hoping 2-3 times per week will be a good amount of posts for me. I want to reconnect with the reason I even started my blog: to practice my writing and share my thoughts.

    • I completely agree with you! I started out loving to blog, but after a few months, it was definitely taking its tolle. Forcing myself to write a post is the exact opposite of why I even started my blog! Thanks for the reminder that it’s okay to take a break! 🙂

  5. I totally agree! I just took 4 days away from blogging… it depends what is going on in my life – if I have a ton of time, I put a lot of effort into my posts but if I don’t have time and I just rush, I don’t enjoy it and I don’t think readers do either.

  6. i totally know what you mean! you have to do what is best for YOU! i’ve altered my “blogging schedule” a couple times since i started. you don’t want it to become a chore, but something that you enjoy.
    our wedding cake was red velvet with cream cheese frosting. mmm it was so good!

  7. When I first started my blog (I think right around the same time as you!) I thought I’d post every day. It became stressful, especially with work. Now, I post as I feel like it. Sometimes that’s only twice a week (or not at all when I was super busy) and sometimes it’s 4-5 times. Do what works for you to make sure you keep enjoying it!

    • Thanks Michelle! You are such a great blog friend! 🙂 When I first started, I would look around at these other blogs posting 2-3 times per day and I thought I would have to as well to obtain readers. Now I’ve realized that I was going about it the wrong way. If people want to read, then that is amazing, but if not, that is okay too. Blogging is supposed to be a creative release, not cause more stress to my life!

  8. I get burnt out on anything if I do it too much. I also recently jsut started blogging more like 3 days a week instead of 5. I also workout about 3 days a week because if i do more than that, its too much and I end up needing to take a longer break. Moderation is key for me!

    • I am right there with you! I am actually taking a complete break from exercise, besides walking and some yoga. My body hasn’t had a break in my entire life and it has been screaming for rest. When I was in college I would work out 5 days a week at least, so it is a big change for me, but also a good one.

  9. Happy birthday to the hubby and I love that tebow still walks on the couch! I agree about taking a break. It’s hard when you don’t have anything to write about and try and force it because quality goes down (not that your quality goes down, I love everything you post 🙂 ).

  10. I find it difficult to keep up with posting on my blog daily. That was my goal, and I did it for about one week straight, but then I felt I couldn’t find the time to keep up. I try to post as often as I can though. I do check a few blogs daily (or back track when I miss days) – yours is one 🙂 My dogs do not walk on the back of the couch… probably because they are too big! (lab and a german shepard/lab mix). I actually just ate at BD’s for the first time last month when I was visiting my family outside of Chicago (we ate at the one in downtown Naperville). I loved it! The closest one to my home is about an hour away though, so I don’t think I will visit much now.

    • Thank you for your comment Pam! It makes me so happy that you enjoy reading 🙂 My pup is a lab too, and it also way to big to walk on the couch. Lol Hopefully he will figure this out in his little puppy brain soon. Ha!

  11. Sometimes if I am out of town or traveling, I like to have a day or two off, just to actually be in the moment instead of thinking of everything through my camera. But when I’m home and doing my usual routine, I am pretty good about posting at least once a day.
    My dog doesn’t think she’s a cat… she thinks she’s a person sometimes. She knows how to sleep with her body under the covers and her head on a pillow. But she can’t fight off the dog-side of her when we are playing fetch 😉

  12. My dog totally does that too! Except she is much smaller. Also, I tried to blog everyday, but I feel like people get bored with the same things! So now I do it 4 times a week. Makes it much more enjoyable,

  13. I feel ya on the blog posting. I used to try to post every single day, but then realized that it was just too often. I now post Mon-Fri with the occasional weekend post if something happens. If I miss a day though, I try to cut myself some slack. Like many have commented, trying to force a post sometimes doesn’t produce good content.

  14. YES! I know exactly how you feel!! Like most fellow bloggers I see 🙂

    There is just so much to get done each day, so much you want to do on top of that, and so much to blog about!! It’s just too much sometimes…

    It’s crazy how we’re stressing ourselves these days with work – family time – friends – social media – preparing meals – cleaning the house – fitness – hobbies … you name it! Yet getting some quiet time and accurate sleep is important too 😉

  15. Oh, Jana– I TOTALLY feel you on the blogging front. I started out posting several times A DAY at first, then went down to 2 times a day, then 1 a day, and now maybe 4-5 times a week. I think it’s totally normal to feel like it’s time to take a step back in order to enjoy your hobby. You don’t want to get burnt out and not blog at all! (Not to mention that would make me very sad too 🙂 )

  16. I completely understand how you feel about the blogging deal! I never want to post just to post. You don’t want it to feel like you HAVE to blog. That takes the fun out of it! 🙂 I love your blog, and I’ll read it as much as you post! Besides… sometimes I get behind so it is nice to not have to catch up on 10 posts if I miss a couple of days!

  17. I’m so glad I’m not alone in this!! I work full time and promised myself I would blog once a week – and that it would be quality. Those I love other bloggers who just blog “day to day stuff”, I wanted mine to be full of really informative, helpful tips, along with a bit of day to day. And all I had time to research and write was once a week.
    But then I realized that other bloggers post EVERY. DAY. Sometimes twice. And they have jobs….and I don’t have any clue how they do it. I guess it’s just not me.
    And so I figure, I will stick to my once a week plan. And if people want to read what I have to say, awesome. If they forget I’m out there, sad face but I will live. Because like you said, this is my hobby. This is for ME.
    But it’s also for you. And you. And you. But only once a week 😉

  18. Blogging is such a great outlet. It gives me the opportunity to reflect on myself and share my life experiences with so many other people. I know my blog will serve as a time capsule for me. Years from now, I will be able to look back and read my exact thoughts in these moments.
    Both my pit bull and my chihuahua love to climb on the couches. We call them mountain goats!!!

Leave a Reply

