Lemon-Butter Salmon

If you have been reading for awhile, you may remember that I am not a huge fan of fish.  So when my husband threw a huge filet of salmon in our shopping cart while at Costco, I gave him a look that said, ‘Do we really need two pounds of fish?’

Apparently the answer was yes, because before I knew it the salmon was paid for, placed in the car and on its way home with us.  Salmon 1, Jana 0.

When we got home, Tim cut the huge portion into eight filets and stuck them in the freezer.  All but two that is..

These two filets went in my refrigerator, ready for dinner one night during the week.  Although I was nervous about making it, the thought of fish going bad was that much more horrifying.  So that next night became salmon night in our house.  Salmon 2, Jana 0.

I took to Pinterest for some inspiration and looked for the most simple and flavorful recipe I could find.  I saw a few ideas that could fit the bill, so I decided to combine a few recipes using flavors I enjoy, with ingredients I had on hand.

Lemon-Butter Salmon

DSCN2173

Ingredients

  • Two, 4 oz. Salmon Filets
  • 1 Lemon, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon butter, diced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon parsley

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. 

Tear one large sheet of foil and line with lemon slices.

DSCN2154

Place Salmon filets on top of lemon.

DSCN2156

Sprinkle filets with salt, pepper, garlic powder, paprika and parsley.

DSCN2158

Place butter on top of salmon.

DSCN2161

Wrap foil tightly and bake 20-25 minutes on a baking sheet.  I also roasted cabbage alongside the salmon by drizzling the wedges with olive oil and sprinkling salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

DSCN2166

DSCN2168

I served the salmon along with the cabbage and a simple batch of quinoa on the side.

DSCN2170

The verdict?  Not bad!  I think it could have used some more butter, but that probably would have counteracted the whole ‘health food’ side of salmon.  Overall though, I would give it a score of a 7.5.  However, my salmon loving husband thought it was pretty amazing so I wouldn’t use my score as any indicator.  I would eat it again so that is definitely a good sign.  I have a feeling that salmon may be an acquired taste for me, but that’s okay.  I have plenty of filets in my freezer just waiting to become dinner.  Salmon 3, Jana 1.  (We both got a point for taste, and for delivering a solid and healthy dinner).

DSCN2172

DSCN2174

Questions

  • Are you a fan of salmon?  What is your favorite type of fish?
  • Do you have any tips for cooking salmon?  Perhaps a favorite ingredient or flavoring to pair with the fish?
  • What is one food that your husband/significant other loves, that you are trying to love as well?  Or vice versa?
18 thoughts on “Lemon-Butter Salmon

  1. I’m actually a huge fish fan just because I grew up around it…catching and cooking! My roommate from college gave me a simple recipe for salmon and it counteracts the “fishy” taste quite nicely. It makes the salmon sweeter. You can be the judge on how healthy it is 😉 …

    Pour lemon juice and sprinkle a good amount of a garlic and herb seasoning (I use salt free) into a glass dish (9×13). Place the filet of salmon (with skin side facing up) into the glass dish and let marinade for 30 minutes in refrigerator. Let oven pre-heat at 400 degrees. Pour juice out of dish and flip salmon over so meat side is facing up now. Add a layer of Parmesan cheese to the top of the salmon and sprinkle some more garlic and herb seasoning on top. Bake at 400 degrees for approximately 10-15 minutes (until salmon flakes when you scrape it with a fork). To be honest, I usually just “go by feeling” for when the salmon is done. It’s not an exact science. Asparagus or squash goes great with the dish. I also sometimes add a baked potato for another side dish. Enjoy!

  2. Your presentation is very nice and your receipe very easy. I am not a big salmon fan either, however, I had a mustard crusted salmon at the Palomino Restaruant in Cincinnati several years ago. It was the best I have ever had!!

  3. YEYY!!! I was so happy when I saw salmon in the title of this post! Woohoo! As you might have picked up by my non-stop salmon meals, it is my absolute favorite food! And now I’m happy to see that it might be growing on you too 🙂

    Next you should try to make teriyaki salmon! It’s really great when marinated!

Leave a Reply

