Lightened-Up Chicken Marsala

Whenever I go to an Italian restaurant, I always tend to lean toward entrees that have marinara sauce as a base.  I like alfredo and other rich sauces every once in a while, but I tend to drift away from these meals since I don’t like the weighed down feeling that comes with these orders.  Besides, any dinner can taste absolutely delicious when covered in cream and butter.  I think the real winning dishes are those that stand out without the heavy sauce overpowering the ingredients.

One dish that always catches my eye,  but I rarely order, is Chicken Marsala.  I decided to give it a try at home, only a lightened up version.  My recipe is not one of a traditional Chicken Marsala, but don’t let that keep you from giving this easy to make, flavor-packed dish a try!

 

Lightened-Up Chicken Marsala

DSCN2302

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 large boneless skinless chicken breasts, sliced thin in half OR 6 thin chicken breasts

DSCN2285

  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/4 cup Marsala wine
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup red wine (I used Pinot Noir)

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Heat a large pan over medium heat.  Add olive oil to pan, and sprinkle chicken breasts with salt and pepper.  Add chicken to pan and cook 5 minutes on each side. 

DSCN2286

DSCN2288

Place chicken in an oven-safe bowl and bake in oven 15-20 minutes, or until chicken is fully cooked through.

DSCN2289

Add mushrooms to pan, cooking for 5 minutes.

DSCN2290

Add butter to pan, then whisk in Marsala, chicken broth, and red wine in pan.

DSCN2294

Bring to a boil then simmer for 10 minutes.

DSCN2298 Pour sauce over chicken breasts.

DSCN2300 I served the chicken along with a mix of roasted, mashed cauliflower and potatoes sprinkled with salt, pepper and garlic powder.

DSCN2293

I then added 1/4 cup greek yogurt and 1/4 cup chicken broth, and did my best to mash up the mixture.  Since I roasted the veggies instead of boiling them, it didn’t ‘mash’ as well as I would have hoped.  However, if you are okay with a rustic mash, this may be the side dish for you.

DSCN2297

DSCN2299

DSCN2303

Questions:

  • Are you a fan of Chicken Marsala?
  • What is your favorite dish to order at an Italian Restaurant?
  • Do you tend to lean toward tomato-based, cream, or butter sauces when ordering an entree?
  • Have you ever tried mashed cauliflower?  (If you haven’t, you should!  It’s delicious!)
12 thoughts on “Lightened-Up Chicken Marsala

Leave a Reply

