WIAW: A Look Back

A couple weekends ago, we took Tebow for a bath at our favorite place, Wash Your Dog.  The store allows for us to give Tebow a bath in one of its tubs, without making a mess in our own bathroom.  The cost may be high considering we could simply give him a bath in our own house, but trust me, after seeing the amount of hair he shed after his oatmeal scrub and his blueberry facial it’s to understand why it’s worth every penny.

If you read my blog in the early days, you may remember that I documented Tebow’s first bath.  Well, I felt an urge to reminisce over his puppy days and decided to share with all of you how much he’s grown!

IMG_0029 January 2012

IMG_0794 October 2012

004 - Copy January 2012

IMG_0796

October 2012

DSCN0305 January 2012

IMG_0788

October 2012

It is crazy how much my pup has grown!  However, I personally think he is just as cute and just as sweet!  Perhaps I am a little biased though?

Since today is Wednesday after all, I also wanted to share my Tuesday eats on WIAW.  I apologize for not remembering to take a few of my snack pictures, but I think everyone will know what a grapefruit and peanuts look like…

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast:

Before breakfast, Tim, Tebow and I went for a nice family run.  The weather is pretty warm right now, it actually got in the high 70’s today so it felt pretty good outside even at 5 am.  I had a dentist appointment this morning at 8 am, so breakfast was quick and easy. (I apologize ahead of time for the lack of lighting in the following pictures.  It is definitely staying darker a little longer now.  I miss my early morning sunshine!)

IMG_0801 Egg whites on a whole wheat wrap, with a schmear of laughing cow light cheese.  Those little wedge are great for spreading on wraps and sandwiches!

IMG_0802 All wrapped up and ready to eat!

IMG_0800

I have been feeling a little worn down the last couple of weeks thanks to the hot-cold weather and the change in seasons, so I took a shot of Amazing Grass in Chocolate Green SuperFood mixed with water to help boost my immune system.

I had a cup of coffee with my egg wrap and also packed my version of a Cafe Au Lait to go.  In my thermos was coffee and 1/2 cup skim milk, heated up and extra frothy.

IMG_0803

Snack:

I had 1/2 of an extremely ripe, yet incredibly juicy grapefruit with a sprinkle of Stevia.

Lunch:

Leftovers from Monday night helped to make lunch delicious and easy to pack.

IMG_0805

I had a big bowl of mixed greens filled with diced tomatoes, carrots, celery, and light ranch dressing coated the bottom of the bowl.

IMG_0806 All mixed up!

I also had Bruschetta Chicken, which was a chicken breast topped with basil, diced tomatoes, and mozzarella cheese.  My Tupperware picture wasn’t very pretty, so instead I am sharing a picture from Monday’s dinner.

DSCN2422

DSCN2425

This was so good!  I am a huge fan of fresh mozzarella cheese and it really can make a whole dish rich and memorable.  Look for this recipe to come soon!

Snack:

I forgot to take a picture of snack #2.  It was a couple handfuls of roasted-salted peanuts to tide me over until dinner.

Dinner:

As most of you know, I have been on a tilapia kick lately.  I found this recipe for a seasoning blend on Pinterest and it is amazing!  I have made fish prepared this way twice now and it has truly made its way into my heart as one of my favorite seafood dishes.  I definitely urge you to try it out if you are looking for an easy weeknight dish.

DSCN2428

I served the pan-grilled tilapia filet with a little fresh squeezed lemon juice and roasted Brussels sprouts and onions on the side.

DSCN2431

DSCN2429

Nope, it’s not a hazy dream.  Just steamy deliciousness!

Dessert:

IMG_0808

What actually looks like a slice of pumpkin pie was in reality a homemade protein bar.  I don’t remember the exact measurements, but I know it contained ingredients like peanut butter, protein powder, oats, pumpkin, and mashed banana.  I will have to play around with this recipe again soon.  It turned out pretty good and tasted much more like a sweet treat than a serving of protein, whole grains, healthy fats, and fruit.

IMG_0809

Questions:

  • Do you ever make desserts/meals etc. that you love, but can’t remember how you made it when you’re done?
  • What is the best thing you’ve ever ate that you wish you knew how to make?
  • What was a favorite meal you ate this past week?
  • What is your favorite ‘healthified’ dessert?
21 thoughts on “WIAW: A Look Back

  1. Ahh I can’t get over how CUTE Tebow is!!

    All of your eats look delicious and oh so healthy! That Bruschetta Chicken looks amazing, and I’d love the recipe for that homemade protein bar if you come up with it eventually! 😉

  2. OMG Tebow is such a handsome dog!
    oOOooh that protein bar looks awesome (because I love pumpkin pie, too).
    I eat a lot of Korean food and wish I knew how to make the dishes (but it’s hard because there’s never a set recipe. Every household has their own way of making things and they never measure anything… it’s all by taste!).

    • Thank you! I think he is pretty handsome too! 🙂
      I love pumpkin pie too! I will work on the recipe because I definitely think it tasted good enough to share! Plus, there is nothing wrong with having ‘pumpkin pie’ in the middle of the week! lol

  3. I was so excited to see you breaking out the pumpkin pie, but I guess it is still a little too soon for that 😉 Thanksgiving is soon though!

    And Tebow is adorable but he sure is growing fast. I felt the same way about Popcorn– I wish fur babies would stay small forever.

    • Ahh I know! I actually have free-reign over making the pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving this year, so I am excited to research and find the perfect recipe for Turkey Day! 🙂

      Tebow says thanks! lol I agree with you, wish they would stay puppies forever!

    • I know! It really is a genius idea. The cost is based on the weight of the dog. I think Tebow’s bath costs around $17? It is totally worth it though when you think about the hour or 2 it would have taken to clean up. Time > Money! 🙂

  4. I am so happy you showed those puppy pics, how CUTE! I’ve had puppy fever for a while now and have been looking online at shelters to hopefully adopt one soon. I can’t wait!

    and I love your protein treat concoction! Hopefully there will be a recipe soon?! 😉

Leave a Reply

