Running Returns + Balsamic Bruschetta Chicken Recipe

Fridays to me mean three things:

  1. Casual Friday (I always look forward to wearing jeans, flats, and a cute, yet casual top to work.)
  2. Almost the Weekend (Which means two full days of freedom and spending time with Tim and Teb, family events, cooking and baking, blogging, spending time with friends, and enjoying time at home.)
  3. Another Week is Over.. Already ( No matter how much I look forward to the weekend, it never ceases to amaze me how fast the week days fly and are over in the blink of an eye.  Is it really almost November?)

This weekend I will be doing the typical cleaning, laundry, grocery shopping, etc., possibly a date night Saturday, and going to my friend Meghan’s house Sunday for a fall party filled with good food and fun movies.  As far as exercise goes,I plan on doing a 3-mile run, which is the longest I have done since my half-marathon in May.  I took a break from running and cardio for awhile for health reasons.  Things have been looking up on the health side, so I have started incorporating a little more exercise into my schedule with a small comeback, including a 1.5 to 2 mile run here and there.  The Turkey Trot is coming up on Thanksgiving and I always look forward to it every year, especially because it has truly turned into a family affair.  This is our 4th year running, and each year we seem to add at least one other person.  Year one was just my mom, brother and I, year two was the three of us, my cousin Amanda and Tim, and year three was the five of us and my cousin’s husband, Josh.  This year we are adding in Amanda and Josh’s baby boy to the mix, so it will definitely be a fun time!  The Trot is five miles so Tim and I are going to work our mileage back up the next couple of weeks.  Our goal is two 2-mile runs during the week, and then a ‘long’ 3, 4, or 5- mile run on the weekends.

If you remember from my WIAW post, I left off with a tease for an easy bruschetta chicken recipe.  I love fancy dishes like this without the fuss  Let’s be honest, with ingredients like balsamic vinegar, fresh mozzarella, and fresh basil, all you’ve got to do is let the dish speak for itself while you take all of the compliments!

Balsamic Bruschetta Chicken


DSCN2422

Ingredients

2 large chicken breasts, sliced in half OR 4 small chicken breasts, sprinkled with salt and pepper to taste

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 8 oz container of fresh mozzarella balls, cut in half

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

1 can diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano, drained

DSCN2410

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 cup fresh basil, roughly chopped

* Optional: 1 package of button mushrooms, cleaned and stems removed

Directions

Heat grill-pan, or large skillet, over medium heat.  Add olive oil to the bottom of the pan and place chicken breasts in pan.  Place lid on top of pan and cook for 8 minutes, then flip chicken to the other side and cook an additional 8 minutes, or until chicken is fully cooked through.

In a separate bowl, mix together all ingredients except the mozzarella and mushrooms.

DSCN2414

DSCN2416

After chicken is browned on both sides and fully cooked through the middle, add tomato topping on to chicken and place mushrooms in the pan.

DSCN2420

Add mozzarella on top of tomatoes and into the center of the mushrooms.  Place the lid on the pan and turn the heat down to low.  Let sit 5 minutes, or until the cheese is completely melted.

DSCN2422

DSCN2425

DSCN2426 I served the chicken breast along with frozen ravioli (a Costco purchase) and stuffed mushrooms.  The above is Tim’s plate, and I ate about half the ravioli portion size he did along with the chicken and mushrooms.

Questions:

  • Finish this statement: Friday means….
  • Have you ever taken a break from cardio? What were your thoughts: loved it, hated it, missed it?
  • What is your favorite cheese?  (I love love love fresh mozzarella!)
  • Does anyone else run any fun holiday races, like the Turkey Trot?
23 thoughts on “Running Returns + Balsamic Bruschetta Chicken Recipe

  1. Oh wow! This recipe looks great. I’m pinning it as we speak!

    Good luck on your run this weekend 🙂

  2. Friday means… More of a low key day and looking foward to two days of relaxation, fun, and productivity with my husband!

    As you know, I did take a break from high intensity cardio for quite awhile and it wasn’t fun for me at all, especially in the beginning. It got easier as time went on though, and I learned to appreciate other types of low intensity exercise. Plus, the end results were totally worth it!

    Favorite cheese? That’s a tough one, but I’d say goat cheese, cheddar, or pepperjack depending on what I’m eating it with!

    We are planning to walk/jog our town’s Turkey Trot this year too! It’s so fun!

    • That is awesome that you get Fridays off! If I had the option of working four 10 hour days, I would take it in a heart beat! That is how I feel about running right now too. I took a break after my half, but I really do miss it. Short, no-pressure runs are pretty fun, I think I forgot! lol

Leave a Reply

