Winning Weekend

Here we are already at the first Monday in November…it’s hard to believe.  This week is an exciting one for me since I only have 4 days of work and then I will be celebrating my birthday weekend with family and friends!  I can’t wait! 

I hope everyone had a wonderful past few days though and I want to start today by saying sorry for not posting Friday.  I actually had a post written and ready to go for the morning, but last week was so crazy at work that I accidently forgot to upload it before I ran out the door.  Some days can be harder than others to work full-time and keep up with blogging, even though I only post a few times a week.  I have no idea how those who work full-time and blog up to three times per day keep up with everything, they are amazing!  However, I think my forgetting to post shows even more to my readers that I am only human and have to prioritize, even though I wish the blog could have my full attention.

This weekend was filled with some serious rest and relaxation Saturday, which was absolutely wonderful.  Those days to myself are few and far between and I am truly thankful when I get time to clear my mind and give my body a break.  I have always appreciated alone time and how rejuvenated it can leave me feeling, especially after such a busy yet fun-filled last few months.  I watched lifetime movies and cuddled with my pup, who kept me company while Tim was away at work.

Sunday came with the blessing of having an extra hour in the day thanks to daylight savings time and allowed for Tim, Tebow and I to go on a 3.5-mile run together in the morning before getting ready to finally attend Tim’s anniversary gift from me..

 IMG_0834

Tickets to the Bengals vs. Broncos game in Cincinnati!

IMG_0835

IMG_0836

IMG_0837

 

We all had a blast (especially Tim!) and the Broncos won (yay)!  Seeing Peyton Manning play live is even more thrilling than watching him on television.  I swear, there were quite a few passes when I thought he was going to get intercepted, but then at the last minute the ball would swerve in the right direction, or a receive would come out of nowhere to catch the pass.  Truly incredible!  However, I was definitely ready for a warm car after the game and comfy sweats when I got home.  Although the temperature was close to 50 degrees, it only felt like that when the sun was shining.  Otherwise, the cool air and wind was pretty chilly on my toes and fingers, even while wearing a pair of gloves and boots.  After last week’s weather having temperatures in the 30’s though, I was definitely grateful for what we had and that there was no rain to be found on the radar.

 

Since I didn’t get to share my Friday post with you, I decided to incorporate that recipe into today’s.  I know it is pretty obvious from many of my recipes that ground turkey is a popular main ingredient that I like to use.  It’s not only healthy, but it is also extremely versatile and easily takes the place of chicken or beef in dishes.  Some of my favorite meals to use ground turkey are:

  • Spaghetti Sauce
  • Tacos
  • Chili
  • Burgers
  • Meatballs
  • Etc…

Another entree I love to use ground turkey in is meatloaf.  I have already shared my recipe for a basic Ground Turkey Meatloaf and a more creative Turkey Bacon Cheeseburger Meatloaf, but how about another tasty comfort food option?  This one was simple to make and it is an easy way to get a few more veggies into your picky eaters.  How about a serving of mashed potatoes, aka mashed cauliflower on the side?  This week night meal will bring you right back to grandma’s kitchen and offers the opportunity to make a classic with a twist.

Roasted Veggie Turkey Meatloaf with Parmesan Mashed Cauliflower

DSCN2459

Ingredients

Meatloaf

1 cup baby carrots, diced

1 cup zucchini, diced

4 cloves garlic

1/2 small onion, finely diced

2 teaspoons olive oil

1 pound ground turkey

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon paprika

1/3 cup oats

1 egg

4 oz can diced mushrooms

1/2 cup freshly parmesan cheese, grated and separated

Cauliflower

1 head fresh cauliflower, cut in quarters with half of stem removed

1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt

1/4 cup freshly parmesan cheese, grated

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon parsley

 

Directions

Meatloaf

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Place carrots, zucchini, garlic and onion on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil. 

DSCN2436

Place in oven for 10 minutes then set aside to cool.

In a large bowl, mix together ground turkey, salt, garlic powder, black pepper, paprika, oats, egg, mushrooms, and 1/4 cup parmesan cheese.  Add in veggies and mix with hands. 

DSCN2440

Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray and add turkey mixture to pan.  Top with remaining quarter cup of parmesan cheese and place in oven.  Bake for 40 minutes, then broil on high 2-3 minutes.

DSCN2444

DSCN2448

DSCN2457

Cauliflower

In a large pot, bring enough water to cover the cauliflower to a boil.  When water begins to boil, add a sprinkle of salt to the water and place cauliflower in pot.  Cook 15-20 minutes, or until cauliflower can easily mash.  Place cauliflower in large bowl and add Greek yogurt, parmesan cheese, black pepper, salt, garlic powder and parsley.  Mash with either a potato masher, hand mixer, or fork for a more rustic texture.

DSCN2451

DSCN2453

Serve a large dollop of mashed cauliflower with your turkey meatloaf for a healthy, easy, veggie-filled meal.

DSCN2461

DSCN2463

DSCN2460

Thoughts from You:

  • What did you do this weekend?
  • What is your favorite football team?
  • If you are a blogger, do you ever struggle to balance all of your responsibilities?  If you are a reader, do you read blogs everyday or pick a day or two a week to catch up?
  • Are you a ground turkey fan?  What is your favorite meal to substitute ground turkey in place of beef or chicken?
  • How do you get extra veggies into your family’s diet?
17 thoughts on “Winning Weekend

  1. I really like ground turkey, and I agree that it’s a great substitute. However, my fiance doesn’t agree, he’s a beef loving guy, all the way. One of these times I may have to make the substitution secretly and see if he notices 😉

Leave a Reply

