WIAW: Meal Ideas at my Fingertips

Today’s WIAW is going to be short and sweet!  I don’t talk about my job on the blog since I like to try and keep those two worlds separate, but from Monday through Friday I deal with group health insurance benefits.  At this time of the year, a lot of companies hold insurance open enrollment periods for employees so from about September to mid-December is the busiest season for me.  The last two weeks have been exhausting, but the good news is that there is always a light at the end of the tunnel!  Until then, I will do the best I can to keep up with this blog while focusing on my job that actually pays the bills. 🙂

 

Peas and Crayons

 

Although I have been a busy bee, I have also been making some delicious recipes, straight from the minds of some very creative ladies.  Thank you Pinterest for guiding me to these hidden gems!

DSCN2509

Pumpkin Cinnamon Swirl Protein Bars

 

DSCN2468

DSCN2469

Frozen Hot Chocolate

 

DSCN2490

Pumpkin Pie Milkshake

In thanks to cool temperatures this past week, I also made a few super easy and delicious bowls of oats including…

DSCN2279

Peanut Butter and Jelly Oats

1/2 cup oats

1 cup milk or almond milk

1-2 tablespoons peanut butter

1 tablespoon raspberry preserves, jam, or jelly

DSCN2265

Peanut Butter Banana Cocoa Oats

1/2 cup oats

1 cup milk or almond milk

1 tablespoon cocoa powder

1 teaspoon stevia or other sugar substitute

1-2 tablespoons peanut butter

1 banana

 

As much as I enjoy coming up with my own recipes, I am so thankful for blogs and websites like Pinterest.  It’s such a nice feeling to know I have meal ideas at my fingertips, especially during those busy days.  I have a three day weekend coming up (!) so I am hoping to have some time to get creative in the kitchen!  Cross your fingers!

Thoughts from You:

  • What are your favorite websites to pull meal ideas from?
  • What is your job?  Do you have a busy season?
  • What is your favorite oatmeal recipe?  Feel free to link up.
29 thoughts on “WIAW: Meal Ideas at my Fingertips

  1. I eat PB&J Overnight Oats almost every morning! I don’t think I will ever get sick of it, I’m glad you like it too! I use all the same ingredients you did, except I add 1 scoop protein, 1 tsp chia seeds, and I only use 1/4 cup almond milk. Mix it all up at night, and BAM! It’s ready to open and eat for breakfast the next morning 🙂 Saves me so much time in the morning when I’m hurrying out the door for work! Love you girl!

    • Love your idea in adding protein powder, and I am a huge fan of overnight oats, especially during the summer! I agree with you too that chia seeds are great in oats and make it so much thicker 🙂 You are such a smart lady, maybe you should do a guest post for me?! love you too!

  2. Wooow,your milkshake and the fozen hot chocolate look scrumptious!
    And I loooove how creamy your oatmeal looks as well… Yummy! 🙂

    • Being a high school English teacher was one of my considerations when I began trying to choose an occupation to work toward! I love writing and I like trying to be a role model and trusted person for young teens to talk to.. You may be busy, but I know you make such a difference in the minds of youths!

  3. Honey, I have a “real job” too, and this is our busy season. I am the marketing manager for a convention center and with holiday parties approaching….LOOK OUT!! You are doing great juggling everything, and personally – it is a pleasure reading your blog!!

    • Thank you so much! Your comment seriously made my day! I want to offer my readers quality posts, but sometimes it is simply hard to put as much time and thought into them as I would like. I am so glad you understand what it is like to try and balance it all! 🙂

    • I have had the frozen hot chocolate at Serendipity too! I went with my mom and it was so special! I will never forget it! I agree with you, the drink was amazing, but also super pricey! I think it was more about the memory than the hot chocolate anyways.. 😉

      And to answer your question, this healthy version of a frozen hot chocolate is great and comes without the sugar hangover! lol

    • They were so so good! Can you believe that is the first time I have ever tried them? I don’t know what I have been waiting on! A comment earlier said she likes to make overnight pb & j oats, which sounds like a brilliant idea too! 🙂

  4. All looks so delicious! I love a warm bowl of oats in the chilly weather. So comforting.

    Job? I still have such a hard time calling my work a job bec I love it so much. I guess you could say every round of BBB is a busy season…but I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Leave a Reply

