Birthday Weekend!

The thing about birthdays it that they seem to go just as fast as they come.  It feels like just yesterday I was celebrating my 23rd birthday, and now here I am at 24.  Trust me, I realize that I am not ‘old’ by any means, but I am going to admit this is the first birthday I haven’t felt excited about aging.  However, one thing is for sure and that is friends and family make any birthday special no matter what age we turn.  This weekend definitely reminded me of my blessings and how the people in our lives are what matters, not gifts or things, but time with those who bring out the best in us.

On Friday morning, I woke up early and hit the elliptical for 30 minutes to get my blood pumping before meeting my mom at our favorite bakery for a coffee and fresh baked donut.  Ele Cake Company is where I purchased my wedding cake, and is also where my family gets many of our cakes for special occasions like graduation parties, birthdays, and showers.  My mom and I spent a good hour at the bakery enjoying time with one another, and talked and caught up on each other’s lives.  To drink, I ordered a nonfat latte with two pumps Cookie Dough syrup, which was yummy even though it didn’t taste as much like cookie dough as I hoped!  We also ordered two donuts and split them right down the middle.  My mom chose the apple fritter and I picked the cake donut with buttercream frosting.  Basically it was cake for breakfast, but it’s easier to justify special treats on our birthday weekend, right?

IMG_0843

IMG_0844

After breakfast, we headed over to the salon and spa to spend the majority of our day.  We started off our appointments separately, with my mom heading to get a pedicure while I got my hair done, and this time I didn’t just trim my hair… I cut it 10 inches!

DSCN2581

After thinking about it for a couple weeks, I finally decided to take the plunge and chop my hair off.  I initially thought I would cut it 4-6 inches, but when I realized going at least 10 inches would allow me to donate it to Locks of Love, I decided to just go all the way.  Plus, my salon was great and took the hair to mail for me so I didn’t even have to worry about sending it off myself.  I haven’t had hair this short since I was probably eight years old, but I figured no matter how I felt about it after the cut, I was at least able to donate it to a good cause.  The good news though is that I absolutely love it, which turned out to be a great bonus!

After the hair cut came lunch delivered to the salon, and then a massage and facial with my mom.  It was amazing!  I haven’t had either in at least a few years and I know I needed it bad.  I carry a lot of stress in my back and shoulders and sitting all day at work definitely doesn’t help my posture.  I felt like a new lady when it was all over and my masseuse was able to get a lot of the knots out of my body.  Such a stress reliever!

When the girl’s day was over, we still had family time that night.  My mom, dad, brother, Tim and I all met at the Cheesecake Factory, the same place I tend to choose for my birthday dinner almost every year.  The dinner, conversation and company was perfect. 

DSCN2584 

Check out the finished haircut!

 

DSCN2585

That would be The Ultimate Red Velvet Cake Cheesecake –

Moist layers of Red Velvet Cake and our Original Cheesecake covered with our special Cheesecake Factory cream cheese frosting.

DSCN2586

So so good!  I love red velvet cake and when combined with cheesecake and cream cheese frosting?  Heaven!  We split that piece between the table along with a slice of the Pumpkin Cheesecake.  Once again, as good as dinner was, it was definitely being around my family that made the time special and feeling complete.

On my actual birthday, Saturday the 10th, it was a little less planned than Friday and I had a lot of time to myself.  Tim had to work until about three, so I filled my day by going on a 4-mile run with Tebow, (in 36 minutes, 15 seconds, getting faster)!  Since we had friends stopping over later, I decided to clean the house and get started working outside until Tim got home to finish up.  I was able to rake bag after bag of leaves that had fallen from our buckeye tree in the front yard.  Usually outdoor manual labor and I don’t get along too well, but the weather was so gorgeous I didn’t even mind it one bit.  Later in the evening, I planned to meet up with a bunch of my good friends at a wine bar called the Wine Loft to continue celebrating.  On Thursday evening after work, I had ran over to Banana Republic to pick out a new birthday outfit.  I had a hard time deciding what I wanted to wear, so I sent Tim a couple pictures of outfit options and he helped me narrow down the choices and pick out a favorite.  I saw a comfy plaid button-up with navy corduroys and a layered pearl necklace that seemed like the perfect choice.  I had a 50% off up to five full-priced items, fortunately or unfortunately I am always a sucker for email sales, so I scooped the three pieces up that had caught my eye.

IMG_0841

We headed out to the Wine Loft for 8 pm reservations and later moved on to Bar Louie.  Once again, the places were great, but the people who were in attendance absolutely made my night.  No one gets me or makes me laugh quite like my best friends and to say I ‘laughed until I cried’ would definitely not be a figurative statement.  Over the years, we have all ended up in different places, so anytime we are together it’s memorable and it reminds me how amazing my friends truly are.  Once again, I was feeling blessed!

On Sunday, Tim and I had no specific plans so we decided to soak in the day.  Since he had to work Saturday, we spent the morning together by going out to eat for breakfast at The Original Pancake House and then went to the grocery to pick up food and ingredients for the next two weeks of meals.  I had to remind myself that next Thursday is already Thanksgiving, so we tried to buy only what we think we’ll eat while taking into account Thanksgiving dinners and leftovers.  The rest of the day was spent catching up on laundry, grilling out for dinner, watching football, and I also watched a couple Christmas movies on the Lifetime Channel.  I can’t believe it is already November 12th!  I usually try and resist really getting into the Christmas spirit until after Thanksgiving, but I will admit I have been listening to some Christmas music on the radio and have watched a few movies.  If there were Thanksgiving songs and movies I would definitely be focusing on those, but unfortunately they are few and far between.

As you can see, birthday weekend was definitely a success!  I did a lot of fun things, and went to plenty of great places, but nothing was better than those who were right there by my side.

Thanks to all of you who entered the BlenderBottle giveaway!  The winner is:

 image Brittany from GOtheXtraMile!

GOtheXtraMile

November 9, 2012 at 1:32 pm [Edit]

I like them on facebook!

 

Congratulations!  Please email me at newlywifehealthylife@gmail.com and I will get your BlenderBottle to you!

 

Questions for you:

  • What did you do this weekend?
  • When is your birthday?  Do you have any traditions you like to do each year to celebrate?
  • What is your favorite kind of cheesecake?
  • Are you a sucker when it comes to emails about sales?  What is your favorite store?
29 thoughts on “Birthday Weekend!

  1. EEEEEEEEEEE!! I KNEW that you were going to cut my hair after that sneaky little comment you left on my blog! It looks fantastic, Jana 😉
    And it sounds like you had a great birthday weekend to boot! You lucky lady!

Leave a Reply

