Thanksgiving Weekend Recap

Good morning and happy Monday!  Is it just me or is it always harder to go back to work after a long, amazing weekend?  These past four days have been some of the best of the year and I have been one busy girl, hence the missing post on Friday!  Since Wednesday morning I have not stopped moving during a weekend that looked like this:

Wednesday: Worked all day, went to the grocery, baked two pies (a Pecan Chocolate Chip Pie and a Pecan Pumpkin Pie), drove to my hometown, met up with my friends, hung out with my family, went to bed at 1:30

Thursday: Woke up at 6, drove to the Turkey Trot, ran 5 miles (finished in 47:37 with a 9:32 pace), drove home to get ready, roasted butternut squash and Brussels sprouts, packed, drove to my parents’ house, helped my mom finish cooking, eat lunch, look at ads for Black Friday, spend time with family, went to Tim’s family Thanksgiving, ate dinner, arrived back at my parents’, played board games with my mom (haven’t done this in forever!), and watched the Blind Side until I fell asleep

Friday: Woke up at 7, headed out for Black Friday shopping and went to: Target, JoAnne Fabrics, Bed, Bath and Beyond, and then the outlets, ate a quick lunch, shopped until we dropped, headed home, grabbed a latte (much needed), ate Thanksgiving leftovers, packed up my stuff, headed home, ran a few loads of laundry, and spent time with my boys

Saturday: Went on a 2.5 mile run with Tebow, made a pasta salad, headed back to my parents’ with my little family to watch the OSU v. Michigan game (Go Bucks!), ate some food, watched some football, drove back home, lounged with just Tebow while Tim was working and watched a movie (Ides of March, which I surprisingly really liked, although it’s hard for a movie to not be appealing when both George Clooney and Ryan Gosling are the stars), fell asleep at 9

Sunday: Woke up at 7:30 (10.5 hours of sleep!  I obviously needed some rest!), drank coffee and read a devotional, made breakfast, laundry, meal planned for the next two weeks and built my grocery list, went to the grocery, washed all of my fall linens and put away fall decor, put up Christmas decorations (almost done, just need a tree!) while watching Christmas movies and listening to Michael Buble Holiday on Pandora, made dinner (Skinny White Chicken Lasagna) and baked a Low Carb Pumpkin Cream Cheese Bread for a snack during the week, then blogged, and went to bed happy and content after such an awesome and fun-filled weekend!

Wow!  I feel tired just reading it all!  However, this weekend was what I needed for my emotional health.  There is nothing like stepping back from the office and spending time with family and friends, and just being grateful and thankful for all I have.  Weekends like this past one are hard to come by, but that is what makes them all the more special.  I am off to get ready to start a new work week, but before I go, here are pictures of some of the delicious eats I was blessed enough to have enjoyed this weekend:

DSCN2669

DSCN2671

DSCN2672

DSCN2673

DSCN2674

DSCN2683

DSCN2686 DSCN2688 DSCN2692

DSCN2694

 

DSCN2690

DSCN2701

IMG_0867

IMG_0864

IMG_0861

 

Questions for You:

  • How was your Thanksgiving?
  • What did you do this weekend?
  • Did you go Black Friday shopping?  If so, did you find any shopping deals?
  • If you ran a Thanksgiving Day race, how did it go?
  • What was the best thing you ate?
16 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Weekend Recap

  1. If that isn’t a fantastic weekend catch-up I don’t know what is 😉

    It sounds like you had such a great Thanksgiving! Girl, I have been blasting the Michael Buble Christmas CD too. He just knows how to swoon my holiday season 😀

  2. What a fun and productive weekend!! We are blessed to have the time together as a family and enjoy the blessings we are given. Great receipes! Looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

